RUN to see The Producers!

May 20, 2010 at 4:16 pm Leave a comment

I saw the Saint John Theatre Company production of The Producers last night.

WOW.  That about covers it.  And the K100 ad wasn’t kidding either, “it’s so funny you’ll wet your pants!”  I was doubled over (which is hard when you have a 6 month fetus in your belly) and tearing up from the laughter. 

I anticipated the fabulous characters knowing many of the people in the show, but I was surprised at the calibre of performances I saw last night…  and it was just the dress rehearsal!

From the opening notes of “Opening Night” I was hooked.  The costumes were wonderful, the company numbers ridiculously superb and the sets were impressive.  Not surprisingly, Stephen Tobias as Max Bialystock was awesome!  Jeff Smith (who blew me away in Tuesdays with Morrie) was a fantastic choice for Leo Bloom…  his hysterics had me in stitches!  Ulla (Dayna Cameron-Van Doleweerd) was delightfully cheeky and boy could she shimmy!  My favorite by far: Scott Thomas as gay director Roger Du Buis.  His first appearance in drag was enough to make the show worth every penny, but when he came out in the “Springtime for Hitler” (show within the show) number and pranced around the stage in his liederhosen I thought I would die laughing!  And to top it all off, the supporting cast was enchanting and the musical numbers fantastic.

I wish many a broken leg to the cast and crew for the rest of the run, I loved every minute of it!

If you don’t have tickets, you are missing out and should get your ass to the Imperial Theatre tonight through Saturday at 8pm (matinée on Saturday at 2pm).

Entry filed under: Arts Community. Tags: , , .

This Weekend in Saint John (May 20-23) COND-OH! Party with a Purpose

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me!

Want me to let others in on your fabulous Saint John event/location? Need suggestions on what to do in Saint John? uptowngirl.sj@gmail.com

Twitter Updates

Recent Posts

Calendar

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


