Why Graham thinks SJ is Fab.

September 15, 2009 at 10:53 pm 5 comments

Inspired by my blog page on Why SJ is Fab, I got the following email from Graham.  Graham has recently joined the uptown streetscape and is a big fan of what Saint John has to offer…  for the outdoorsmen or women out there!

Hey Uptown Girl,

I enjoy your blog. Thanks for sharing your love of the City. Since January I have been thoroughly enjoying the perks of living and working uptown.

I just thought that I’d pass on why I think Saint John is fab. After living in Halifax for university and work, then traveling out west in search of an ideal outdoorsy town, I opted for Saint John and its hidden outdoor activities. I love that in Saint John I can walk to work through historic streets, stop at the city market, while being so close to a handful of incredible natural areas.

It might surprise most people that for an outdoor enthusiast, Saint John has it all. For the adventurous there’s a life time of rock climbing, ice climbing, and mountain biking and whitewater kayaking is growing in popularity. Then of course there are many beautiful forests and mountains to hike, ski, and snowshoe. Our waterways are a real gem. For sailing, canoeing, and kayaking you have the choice of either freshwater lakes and rivers or the Fundy’s wild coastline. Then there are the places you can go to relax. Waterfalls abound in and around Saint John and the beaches are fantastic (but cold).

So its not about just having the outdoors stuff to do. It’s about being able to access it from the comfort of a vibrant city.  You can follow some of the things I do outside on my blog, LOCAL MOTION at www.grhmwgh.blogspot.com

Have a great long weekend, Graham

I hope that you will agree, after reading this, that this guy has it right.  We have even more at our fingertips than many of us realise.  I will definitly be checking out his blog on a regular basis, as well as taking further advantage of the outdoor activities available.  Thanks Graham!

Entry filed under: City Life, Outdoor adventure, Saint John Blogger. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

This Week in Saint John (Sept 14-20) Running in heels!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  September 16, 2009 at 12:47 am

    I totally agree with Graham, and have for months now – this place rocks!

    Reply
  • 2. Tony Brown  |  September 23, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

    Reply
    • 3. uptowngirlsj  |  September 24, 2009 at 12:06 pm

      Tony, thanks so much! I am glad you like it. 🙂
      I read a lot of blogs before starting and really wanted to find something I am passionate about. As it turns out, I am most passionate about my city and want others to join in the fun!

      Reply
  • 4. JimmyBean  |  October 1, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

    Reply
  • 5. REIT  |  October 6, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    Generally I do not post on blogs, but I would like to say that this post really forced me to do so, Excellent post! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me!

Want me to let others in on your fabulous Saint John event/location? Need suggestions on what to do in Saint John? uptowngirl.sj@gmail.com

Twitter Updates

Recent Posts

Calendar

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives


