Dog Day Discoveries

September 11, 2009 at 1:44 am Leave a comment

dog walkingThere is nothing like walking a dog in your own neighborhood to discover so many wonderful things you never noticed before!  Don’t have a dog?  Borrow one like I did!  Actually, I didn’t borrow him – I have been fortunate enough to do some dog sitting for my good friend.

So tonight, like every night, George & I went for a walk in the South End (unless of course we hit the dog park, but that is another experience for another blog).  We decided to change up our typical route and walked a bit farther and slower than on most nights.  George did what came naturally and, in the words of my niece, “had to stop and sniff at every single post and bush he walked by!”  But while he did that, I looked around and I looked up.

My grandfather always says that the best view of Saint John is looking up at its buildings, and although I had done it many times in the uptown core, I have never done it on the streets around my own home.  I found myself marveling at the architecture and vastness of some of the buildings on Orange St. and, of course Germain St.  I saw, though alleyways, some great rooftop patios that are hidden behind some amazing apartments and meticulous little yards & gardens squeezed between buildings.  Even in the crisp evening air there were people BBQing from their perches, and others doing some gardening.  I also discovered that just around the corner from my house, there is a building accented by a wrought-iron spiral staircase! (to understand my enthusiasm read: My love affair with a staircase...)

Of course George attracted all kinds of attention.  We met a lovely old dog named Molly and her owner in Queen Square, we walked alongside a family with 3 kids leaving the convenience store up Wentworth St., and came to chat with a friend and fellow thespian outside her apartment on Orange (didn’t even realise where she lived until tonight)!

If you haven’t taken a good look at your neighborhood lately, I say: what are you waiting for?  Get out there and meet your neighbors, see the sights, and discover something you never knew before!  And if you can do it with a furry friend at your side (even a “rented” one), I highly recommend it. 🙂

Entry filed under: Outdoor adventure, Social Scene. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

This Week in Saint John (Aug 31-Sept 6) This Week in Saint John (Sept 14-20)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me!

Want me to let others in on your fabulous Saint John event/location? Need suggestions on what to do in Saint John? uptowngirl.sj@gmail.com

Twitter Updates

Recent Posts

Calendar

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives


