Mmmm-Meet me at Urban Deli!

July 24, 2009 at 6:08 pm 4 comments

Urban DeliSOOO Good.  I finally made it to Urban Deli, 68 King Street, and am I ever glad I did!  What a great experience, and a fabulous addition to Uptown Saint John.

I used a meeting as an excuse to check it out, not that I needed one, and claimed one end of the long “communal” or “sharing” table for my group.  First, really cool idea…  I mean, perhaps a bit off putting for some, but so neat to just sit down next to complete strangers and see what conversations ensue.  Second, even cooler because it is a hand-crafted masterpiece, one long piece cut from a solid beam taken from a very old Saint John building.  I don’t know why I would ever go back to eating at a stuffy & ‘private’ly uninteresting booth (don’t worry, they do have some of those for the ‘anti-social’ lot).

Besides the table, the inside of the restaurant was chic and well, urban!  The decor was a far cry from Spagos, with its beautiful exposed brick walls from floor to ceiling & large blackboard menu board above the counter.  A great hutch accents the end of the communal table displaying Urban Deli branded coffee mugs, among other things.  There are no secrets kept in the kitchen either, with the open concept, you can see exactly how your food is made!

Which brings me to the food!  Wow.  Before I describe (in detail) what I finally chose for dinner, let me me comment on the menu:  Perfect. Concise. All you need.  My friends and I commented quickly on the short menu… I mean, why do you need pages and pages of choices (where the chef is stretched thin to do everything well)?  Small, well planned menus where the food is well made, that is where it’s at!  Plus, they use local whenever possible.  GREAT!  I had the corned beef sandwich with split pea soup, both full of flavour and totally yummy paired with a glass of white wine.  Plus, what would a deli be without coleslaw a slice of pickle? YUM!

The cherry on top was the service.  Great, friendly service with a willingness to chat and encouragement to experience the communal table.  An older gentleman was ushered to our end of the table and joined right in on our conversations, asking us all what we do and why we were there. 

At dinner time the restaurant was full, and understandably so!  I hope the business floods in to this new uptown gem.  In fact, I found it so good, I returned the very next day.  Eat well Saint John, and be merry!  Cheers.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

ROCK THE DOCKS (Press Release) This Week in Saint John (July 27-Aug 2)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mysaintjohn  |  July 24, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    We went there on Monday and loved it.

    Reply
  • 2. Mrs SudsMuffin  |  July 26, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Mr SudsMuffin picked up a couple of Muffaletta sandwiches to bring back to our shop the other day and they were awesome. I also was impressed with the short, specialized menu. That’s definitely the right way to do it. We’ll definitely be back to try other selections.

    Reply
  • 3. Extenze  |  August 14, 2009 at 1:43 am

    thanks !! very helpful post!

    Reply
  • 4. Team Roster  |  October 30, 2010 at 8:38 am

    Best you should make changes to the post title Mmmm-Meet me at Urban Deli! UptownGirl SJ to more suited for your webpage you create. I loved the post nevertheless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me!

Want me to let others in on your fabulous Saint John event/location? Need suggestions on what to do in Saint John? uptowngirl.sj@gmail.com

Twitter Updates

Recent Posts

Calendar

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives


