A Wet Canada Day Countdown… best ever!

July 2, 2009 at 6:44 pm 4 comments

I have never had so much fun counting down to my birthday!  Yes, I am now living in my second quarter century.  🙂  I can’t wait to see what it brings, and all of the amazingly fun things I will get to experience in Saint John and beyond!  But enough about that, how was Canada Day Countdown you ask?  In a word, rockin’!  I have attended 3 of the 4 since Fusion pioneered them in 2006, and this one was by far the best.  And the rain?  Icing on the cake.

My friends and I got down to the boardwalk around 8:30pm.  I was so excited to see Peppers Pub up and running bar services on their funky new patio!  Unfortunately, they were a little off-center from the stage, and I wanted a good vantage point for David Myles.  We made our way through the crowd and chose a spot at the back of Cougars Patio.  We had lots of room to dance and mingle for an hour or so, even my parents joined us!  David Myles sounded great and everyone who hadn’t experienced him yet really enjoyed his music.  I even got ambushed by some former (now legal) students.  Yikes!

Nearing the end of David Myles, the Boardwalk really started to fill up.  There wasn’t a lot of room to move anywhere, and you really had to plan your movements to bathroom and bar to be able to get back.  I loved being close to my friends and having to crawl over strangers to get to others that arrived later.  A true maritime concert experience! 

Everyone got geared up for Joel Plaskett and there was lots of belting along with him and the band when they finally hit the stage.  A real treat was the addition of Rose Cousins on some of the tunes.  I made it up onto the railing with the girls before the countdown at midnight and we had a great time rocking out to the band.  Being up high made it easier to see people across the patios, I saw lots of friends dancing in different areas who shouted well wishes to me on my birthday.

But the most fun part of the evening?  At about the time of the countdown, it started to rain!  A few attendees were affected by this and ran for cover, but the rest of us just let it come down. 🙂  Some, like Hubby, were smart and brought coats and umbrellas, but then there was me…  in nothing but my new Je Suis Prest dress!  I got SOAKED, but had a marvelous time doing it.  Cheering, singing and dancing in the rain was too much fun, especially surrounded by hundreds of excited Saint Johners (and visitors) doing the same!

Oh what a night!

Entry filed under: City Life, Free Event, Social Scene. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

This Week in Saint John (June 29-July 5) SJTC’s Theatre on the Edge (Press Release)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Craig Allen  |  July 2, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Glad you enjoyed! It was truly an amazing night. Plaskett rocks!

    Reply
  • 2. Someone who saw you there  |  July 3, 2009 at 2:27 am

    I’m surprised you remember anything that happened that night!

    Reply
    • 3. uptowngirlsj  |  July 3, 2009 at 3:26 am

      Slightly creepy “from someone who saw [me] there.” 😉 But I was extremely lucid that evening, having chosen instead to watch my hubby pass through the many phases of inebriation.

      Reply
  • 4. Imire  |  July 5, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    Gut!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me!

Want me to let others in on your fabulous Saint John event/location? Need suggestions on what to do in Saint John? uptowngirl.sj@gmail.com

Twitter Updates

Recent Posts

Calendar

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives


