I heart Saint John.

April 22, 2009 at 12:14 pm 1 comment

I marvel at how great my city is, even better sometimes, than I already believe it to be (and that’s saying something).  And on top of it all, it keeps getting better!  Saturday, I had the best Saint John day.

It started when the sun woke me up.  I did the usual morning things in a very good mood, pulled on my skinny jeans, sandals & my army surplus jacket, and headed out with my ipod on route to my home inspection.  I walked to my home inspection, which is SO exciting, because hubby and I bought a house in the SOUTH END (just blocks from our first -and last- apartment together).  Saint John is stuck with UptownGirl now!

The important stuff out of the way, I grabbed a quick lunch at home and headed to the Saint John Free Public Library.  I volunteer there in the youth programming department and, once a month, I facilitate a Dance Dance Revolution and RockBand gaming afternoon.  This week tons of kids showed up and I got some exercise challenging some of them to a dance-off!  While at the library, my good friend and new mom happened to show up and I got to see her new daughter.  Wonderful!

My feel-good experience of the day over, I took a stroll through the pedway (which was beautiful with the sun streaming in through the windows) and did some shopping.  I stopped first at CD Plus, which I am sad to say is going out of business (an east-coast business), but got some great deals on DVD’s (everything %30 off).  After that, I popped in and saw Keira at Je Suis Prest and had her pick me out a new dress for Faces of Fusion.  🙂  It is fabulous, blue, and you should come to Faces to see it!

I then mosyed down Germain St. to check out the opening of Bean Books.  I will have a whole blog dedicated to this store in the very near future, but let me say that it is SO GREAT!  I got to enjoy the last band in the Record Store Daystreet concert by Backstreet Records while browsing the fantastic fiction collection with my licorice-spice tea.  I stayed a while, reading one of my new purchases, until my sandaled feet said it was time to return home.

Ahhhh…  life is good.

Entry filed under: City Life, shopping. Tags: , , , .

This Week in Saint John (April 20-26) Bean Books, bravo!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. ISNA  |  April 22, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    good post! keep em coming

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me!

Want me to let others in on your fabulous Saint John event/location? Need suggestions on what to do in Saint John? uptowngirl.sj@gmail.com

Twitter Updates

Recent Posts

Calendar

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives


