Archive for April 16, 2009

A Day in MY Shoes.

I just spent a wonderful evening at the Delta Brunswick Hotel, and I get to scratch a Saint John experience off my to-do list!

The 3rd Annual “A Day in Her Shoes” fundraising event for the Canadian Mental Health Organisation was a big success.  Not only did I get to partake in the festivities as a guest, but I had the honor of being a model in the SHOE/accessory fashion show (Manchester Shoe Salon shoes & handbags + Trudy Gallagher “Bejewelled” jewellery!).  My fellow models and I, women of the Saint John community, strolled the runway & worked the crowd while while the MC spoke about how we combat depression in our own lives.

In addition to the “fashion show,” ticket holders were treated to an enormous decadent dessert buffet with tea & coffee, (there was also a cash bar), a silent auction featuring shoes, jewels, handbags & home decore, door prizes and prize draws.  I am excited to say that I went home with great yellow galoshes from the silent auction and my mom won me a huge wall hanging for my new dining room!

I can’t say enough about the event, and most notably the guest speaker.  We were privileged to listen to Rona Maynard, former editor of Chatelaine magazine, who told us her story.  Rona battled severe depression for many years and like most people with mental illness, she was ashamed.  She contemplated suicide and, luckily, with help she was able to overcome her pain and learn to love life.  Her speech was funny, sometimes sad and inspiring.  I was deeply moved. 

Be on the look-out for the date of next year’s event, it is not to be missed!

April 16, 2009 at 3:12 pm 1 comment


Contact Me!

Want me to let others in on your fabulous Saint John event/location? Need suggestions on what to do in Saint John? uptowngirl.sj@gmail.com

Calendar

April 2009
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives