P-WAP, rehearsal and Churchill’s, oh my!

March 28, 2009 at 10:01 pm 1 comment

I had a busy night last night!  First, as mentioned in my last blog, was the Fusion Party with a Purpose at Pepper’s Pub.  I had never been to Pepper’s Pub before the event, and I must say that it is one great spot.  The bar is small and intimate, perfect for drinks and apps with one or two friends.  If you are looking for a larger get together, there is a fantastic  patio out back…  even in the early spring, with the outdoor space heaters lit, it is the perfect atmosphere for a party!

The party was well attended, by both Fusion veterans and virgins.  I met some great new people, including two fabulous ladies who are opening boutique stores in the uptown in the near future (I hope to be able to blog about them soon): Je suis prest, a clothing boutique featuring clothes by Canadian designers on the 2nd Level of Brunswick Square, and Bean Books, a small fiction book store on Germain St. (next to Backstreet Records) where you can enjoy coffee and art while you read.  Gerry Pond spoke very well to the issue of poverty in Saint John and inspired those in attendance to be a part of the solution.  Mark Leger recorded many a fusionite voice their opinions on what poverty is and their ideas on how we can fix it.  All in all, a fantastic success!  Don’t want to miss the next one? It will be Friday, April 17th in the UNB building’s Great Hall on Charlotte St.

After saying my goodbyes and finding my mittens, I rushed up the street to the Saint John Theatre Company building (also on Princess St.) where my rehearsal was already in progress.  Seven of the 25 members of the cast of Chicago are back together, under the direction of Stephen Tobias, to put together some entertainment for the huge TD Canada Trust conference happening this coming week.  We will be back on the Imperial Theatre stage on Wednesday to entertain Frank MacKenna and the TD Big-wigs.  Rehearsal went well and the abridged versions of the songs seem to be working.  The most exciting part for me is that I get to learn new choreography and use the ostritch feather fans this time around!

Rehearsal wrapped up around 9pm and, after a quick call to see where everyone was, I joined hubby and 4 of my fabulous friends at Churchill’s for drinks and dinner (finally!).   I had my favorite salad, Strawberry spinach, and thoroughly enjoyed myself in the busy bar listening to the conversations going on around me.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Tonight, I’m partying with a purpose. SOHA, so good.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. beanbooks  |  March 30, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Hey, thanks for the shout out! Any and all press is great. 🙂

    Great blog too by the way!

    Sarah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me!

Want me to let others in on your fabulous Saint John event/location? Need suggestions on what to do in Saint John? uptowngirl.sj@gmail.com

Twitter Updates

Recent Posts

Calendar

March 2009
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


