The Last Game

March 27, 2009 at 2:09 am Leave a comment

First, can I just say how beautiful the weather is this week in Saint John? Of course I can, it’s my blog!  🙂

Anyway, last night “hubby” and I took in the Saint John Seadogs last game.  They lost (for sports enthusiasts: game score 3-2, and they finished 4-0 in the first round of the playoffs against the Cape Breton Screaming Eagles) but, in my humble opinion, went out with a bang!  It was a great game with lots of action; highs (scoring within the first minute of the second period & again near the very end, giving us a glimmer of hope) and lows (losing the 50/50 draw… again… stupid ladies 3 rows back). 

Now don’t mistake me for a sports fan, I couldn’t tell you a good call from a bad call (although I do boo on cue right along with those who do understand), but I like live hockey, and I learn something new every time I see a game.  For instance, last night I witnessed a “slew-footing” penalty… and I am not convinced some of the hardcore fans knew what that meant.

What I like most about going, though,  is the feeling you get watching a sports game.  I love being surrounded by people who are all rooting for the same thing, getting to jump up and cheer as the goal lights flash.  I like walking the arena and seeing neighbors, students, and friends I haven’t seen in a few weeks.  It isn’t a see-and-be-seen type of event, but it is a great social opportunity…  and you don’t even need to dress up!

Do I remember who scored last night?  No.  Did I have a great time?  You bet!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My foray into the blogging world! Tonight, I’m partying with a purpose.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me!

Want me to let others in on your fabulous Saint John event/location? Need suggestions on what to do in Saint John? uptowngirl.sj@gmail.com

Twitter Updates

Recent Posts

Calendar

March 2009
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


